Winter 2017: what I’m watching

Winter2017.fw

Now that it’s February, I thought I talk about this season’s anime series that I’ve been watching!

I already mentioned that I’m watching Urara Meirochou (from J.C.Staff) in a short review, and I think that it’s my favourite from this season simply due to how pretty the aesthetics are. It’s about the energetic adventures of 4 girls who aspire to be fortune-tellers (similar to how in Pokemon, boys set out to become a Pokemon trainers at a certain age). It’s cute, adorable, and never has a dull moment. A strong 7/10.

The next series I check out from this season was Konosuba S2 (from Studio Deen). It’s probably the crowd favourite, as it was a lot of people’s favourite comedy series last year. This new season feels like a good continuation from its original, and the humour is consistent from the last season. A solid 7/10.

These two were the series I had planned to watch these two series since last year. But as a frequenter of r/anime_irl, I found myself introduced to other CGDCT (cute girls doing cute things) shows as well.

First, Gabriel Dropout (Doga Kobo). The first episode was stellar. It’s kind of edgy in that the characters are angels and demons, with one character even called Satania. The joke here is that the personalities of the angels and demons characters are swithced, and the demons end up looking like angels in comparison. It’s actually pretty funny and easy to watch. A solid 7/10.

Second, Demi-chan wa Kataritai (A-1 Pictures). The story is set in a modern society where demi-humans (ex. vampires and succubi) are in the process of being integrated and being accepted into the society. One high school teacher wants to interview them for his master’s thesis. Although many people are enjoying this series, I dropped it after watching the first episode. Maybe I’m being picky but I thought the show lacked heart, as the characters’ personalities seemed to be derived directly from their demi-human types, and thus the characters seem less important than the plot. This might be just me but there is a certain generic-ness to A-1 Pictures’ character design of cuteness that I couldn’t stand. Finally, I thought that compared to the other CGDCT shows from this season, there was no reason for me to watch it. A Light 6/10.

Third, I decided to check out Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon (Kyoto Animation) after seeing lots of gifs of it floating around. I honestly didn’t expect to enjoy it, because the main character looked stereotypically cute with big boobs. I mean she’s a dragon who wants to be a maid for this typical office worker because she’s in love with her. It doesn’t really make sense but what the show had was heart. You can definitely feel a certain warmth from watching the relationships between the characters. I found it easy to watch episode after episode. A solid 7/10.

Seiren is not a CGDCT show, but a slightly ecchi (so far) romance show. And the MC seems like a rather agreeable person, compared to the completely perverted or completely shy characteristics that MC of ecchi series have. So far into the series (ep. 4), it’s not too bad. Nothing too emotional or heart-breaking. A light 7/10.

My roommate wanted to watch something darker and with mystery, and he suggested that we watch Chaos;Child. Certainly not my preferred genre, but after watching an episode or two, I began to understand why people enjoy the thriller genre — it’s very engaging in a different way. But to be fair, I don’t think I would have enjoying watching it by myself. Although the dramatic tension of the series is inconsistent at times, it hasn’t been a chore to watch it. Strong 6 to a light 7/10.

The last series I checked out was Little Witch Academia. I was reluctant to watch it because I didn’t think the movie/OVA was very interesting at all. But it caught my attention because I kept hearing good things about it. And after checking it out, I understand why. The narrative is very engaging, and the Western influence (this show is more Harry Potter than a magical girl) is a nice change of tone. I’m excited to continue watching the series and I definitely recommend it. A solid 8/10.

Oh, one more series. I checked out Akiba’s Trip The Animation at some point. It’s about hanging around Akihabara and doing stuff. A rather indulgent series for the otaku audience. I thought I would enjoy it, but I dropped it after the first episode because it just wasn’t very interesting to me. But it doesn’t seem like a terrible show either. 5/10.

So, this is what I’ve been watching from this season. If I’m going to add anymore, it would be Fuuka and Masamune-kun no Revenge.


[Source]

Screenshot is from The Witness

Leave a Reply

