hyouka0061

Now I’m aware that I just wrote a whole post on Digibro, but I wanted to quickly reference him again to highlight something different. In a follow up video to the vlog where he calls out anime YouTubers (which reminded me of Kendrick’s verse on Control), he starts the video off with, “… if you’re following [me], you probably have a deep interest in who I am as a person as opposed to just my opinions about anime…”. This is absolutely true–for me anyways–and this relationship aspect of blogging is what I want to discuss in this post; this is what I want to build.

I enjoy watching Digibro’s videos because of the approach to communicating with his viewers that he has established. While it certainly helps that my opinions are generally aligned with his, I love how Digibro is just being himself (his drunken rants partially notwithstanding). His anime analysis, then, are just elaborations of his “what” and then the “why” opinions.

When it comes to music analysis, I subscribe to theneedledrop (Anthony Fantano). Fantano uses distinct and colourful adjectives to describe sounds in a way that usually leaves me appreciating a record in a new way. His impressive knowledge base (the current culture, origins of sound, landscape of the industry, etc) allows him to look at a record through multiple perspectives (commercial value, originality, influences, etc). And although his reviews aren’t necessarily objective, by offering his singular subjective analysis on a such a vast library of albums, he has established meaningful objectivity for those who follow him.

This style of reviewing feels more like sharing critique rather than claiming authority on art. Since objectivity is impossible and pointless when it comes to art anyways, I think that the idea of following a critic for their personal opinion is far more interesting. Both Fantano and Digibro employ this style–and they make this transparent–and Digibro takes it a step further and shares his life outside of his content creation. The art of sharing one’s life, I guess. And it’s always interesting to see the life of someone who really likes the same thing that you like.

This is where I want my blogging to go; I want a writing voice that sounds conversational. Not only is it easier for me to write this way, I think that it is necessary to establish a relationship to be able to talk about the heart of challenging or emotional topics. Topics like depression, sexism, racism, religion, politics, and etc. I want my friends to be my readers, and vice versa. This is why I love and believe in Young Life, which its core philosophy is based on the idea of forming relationships and sharing life together. As my supervisor loves to say, “Christianity is not a religion, it’s a relationship.”

As I realized from working with various ages of children, there is so much joy in teaching and sharing the lessons and perspectives that you yourself have learned over the years. Like the mistakes that you’ve made that you don’t want them to repeat, if possible. Or just simply knowing that you shaped someone’s perspectives in a fundamental way.

I love analyzing, but even more so understanding its process. I am fascinated by the ability to categorize and compartmentalize ideas and problems, to better understand the topic in relation to everything else, and to be able to easily explain it to others. I desire to share how I see the world connect together and how the world makes sense to me. And especially, I’m curious about the psychology behind why people like the things that they do. And in the core of the curiosity is in wondering why I am the way I am. Sometimes, when things amalgamate in ways that you didn’t expect, it just feels like life makes sense, and at the same time appreciate its complexity. What I’m trying to describe is my enjoyment of looking at things holistically, rather than being an expert in one area.

Realistically speaking, however, in order for anyone to care about my opinions in the first place, I have to be an expert in something. This may be broad and ambiguous, but I would love to understand relationships. This reflects why characters are the most important part of a show for me.

A quick shout to FrankJavCee, who I think has found an amazing balance between being informative and entertaining in his videos about music projection and music trends. And Vsauce, who I think does such a wonderful job capturing the curiosity of the human mind in his ‘stream-of-consciousness asking more questions than giving answers’ videos.

These would be my influences for my blogging and thinking patterns. To end, here are some quotes that I thought of while writing this post:

“If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough.”
– Albert Einstein

“The simplest explanation is usually the correct one.”

– Occam’s razor


[Source]

Image is from Hyouka

