tumblr_static_tumblr_static__640

You know, I like thinking about things, and there are many things that I want to explore and learn more about. In my life, anime has been a great facilitator for this–in the themes and emotions they are able to convey–and in conjunction with lived experiences, this makes for great blogging material/inspiration.

I like how Digibro always seems to spontaneously create new video series. In particular, I like the idea of his “decompression chamber” series, in which he just talks about things to relax his mind.

I can relate to this because while writing my own blogs, through living life (as we all do), things constantly come up that I’ll feel is significant enough to share–right in the middle of working on a project. It’s not convenient, but that’s life. So… which one takes precedent?

This got me thinking more about the formats of my blog posts. Blogs are really cool because it allows content creators to create contents as well as share what the creation process looks like in their life. For this reason, people who follow bloggers are interested in both the bloggers’ works as well as the bloggers themselves.

So a good blog format is important as it would allow me to balance the two types of contents. Of course, there are so many ways to share what’s going on in my life, but I feel that something needs to be flexible and/or vague enough to cover this exact kind of thought rambles. And of course, being who I am, I kind of want everything to be a little project, especially when I see their potential to be reoccurring (and it has been).

So what exactly is this kind of post? I personally look at it as a meta blogging post. But the thing is, even if other people don’t have a separate and intentional post category for this, everyone does it. It’s universal and necessary. So my advice for new writers is to just keep writing, because developing a style comes from the process of trying to develop a style, trying out the style, and then making adjustments from how it all feels. And that all depends on your life season you’re going through. It’s a living process. But it’s all necessary, even the shy disclaimer that says ‘hey this is my first time writing…’ on the first post. These are like little platforms that we build, and I kind of want to try embracing it.

When it comes to writing styles/voices, I really like how TWWK from BTT writes. I mean for one thing, his experience with writing shows, but I also just really like his structure where he seems to effortlessly share from his own life, use anime scenes as examples, but always brings it back to God. It sounds simple enough and logically obvious to format it that way, but I can’t seem to do it nearly as well. I also find TWWK to be relateable and humble.

I recently started following Neighborhoodotaku from Otaku Collision. He values honesty and vulnerability, and this is reflected in his writing. This makes for some blunt, powerful, and effective communication. Again, I want to do be able to do this too, as I can clearly see the value of blogging like this, but it’s a really vulnerable process.

I also want to mention JekoJeko from UEM!. His writings are… basically analytical essays on anime. I’ll name drop the fact that he is a Harvard student, and wow, does he brings out some really thoughtful and well researched content. He clearly reads a lot, which is something I need to work on, in order to be guided in thinking about complex topics.

Finally, the lady from The Six-Foot Bonsai. She is quite fierce in her voice and gives a much needed criticism against Japanese culture. She’s lived there for a number of years and brings a valuable perspective to the community. Seeing the negative implications of a culture I love so much isn’t always fun, but it ultimately does more good than harm to learn about these things.

I love reading and learning from these writers because they do a great job being thoughtful and interesting all the while just sharing their life. And all of this is kind of new for me. I was a fairly ignorant and lazy person who loved to chase feelings for most of my life, and blogging has been helping me to be more intentional and directional with my thoughts and passions.

Blogging has also helped me practice formulating and articulating my thoughts, I feel that I can use this skill anywhere else, with many other topics and themes. I want to learn more about the world, learn more about God, have more to say about politics, human rights, racism, feminism, religions, and so on. And aniblogging itself is great too. As E-Kon says here:

“I started to read anime blogs because some shows left me with these weird feelings that I couldn’t quite put into words. And these reviewers helped me re-contexualize what I was feeling. When you’re a young, lonely nerd, coming off this Eva binge with a strange sense of emptiness, reading a review can help you understand why this show made you feel this way, and what that says about you as a person. It’s extremely valuable, really. This is ultimately the first step to becoming a more contemplative fan.”

The feeling of being helped to re-contexualize things is so valuable. So I’ll keep trying and writing; all of this is a learning experience, and a necessary step to getting better. Blogging is a powerful medium, for both the creator and the consumer. I absolutely love blogs like Humans of New York and Nas Daily where they shine love on the world. And they do an incredible job sharing stories.

In life, people go through different seasons at different times, and for different lengths. I don’t always remember this, but I would like to, if possible, help us grow, build, and communicate.

 

 

